Techhouse does not want to be “yet another accelerator,” explains Managing Director Johannes Müller. The Graz-based “innovation accelerator for startups and industry”, according to its own definition, is therefore gearing its offering to the “needs” of founders and corporates and can already come up with success stories. One of them is Felloz by Raphael Marton, which became a “local superhero” by participating in first batch and – not “only” – got capital.

“We moved our headquarters to Zagreb and increased our team with a full-stack developer. Two major clients have also come on board, ‘SOS Children’s Village Croatia’ and ‘Red Noses International’,” explains the founder of the Graz-based social impact startup.

From guest contribution to 50,000 euros

The pre-seed investment Felloz received was in the amount of 50,000 euros and was provided by the VC “Fil Rouge Capital”. Marton comments, “During the Techhouse Accelerator, Julien Coustaury, the founder and managing partner of Fil Rouge Capital, gave a guest post and told us about his early-stage fund. Shortly after, we signed up on the website and were invited to Zagreb out of hundreds of applicants:inside. The same day after the pitch, we already had the acceptance.”

Now Felloz is already looking at the next steps. “In the spring, we launch our donation app with our customers in Europe. We will close the seed investment round next March in order to penetrate the U.S. market as quickly as possible,” Marton continued. “The Techhouse Accelorator has been instrumental in helping us build an international network. On the one hand, there were incredible guest speakers, like Andy Baynes, Apple’s former ‘Head of Product Design’, who shared their knowledge with full passion. On the other hand, there was just the right infrastructure to discuss innovative ideas with creative minds.”

Accelerator as shortcut

Czech “Conversational AI” platform Amio was also a participant in the first batch of the Techhouse Accelerator and recently closed a funding round of 390,000 euros. Founder Matouš Kučera saw the participation as a “shortcut” for his startup: “What was definitely helpful for Amio is the fact that we got connected with Raiffeisenbank and were able to talk to managers responsible for improving UX, support and the whole ‘customer journey’,” he says. “We also got our two-month on-site presence – in the form of an office – from Techhouse. That helped us enter the Austrian market.”

Topic Track and PoC-Track

To explain: The Techhouse program is divided into two levels: In the Topic track, five early stage startups have the chance to develop business models and technologies. The PoC track, on the other hand, was designed for startups and young teams that have not yet founded a company, in order to work closely with industrial cooperation partners on concrete problem areas and their solutions. For founding teams, the focus here is on identifying the customer’s “pain-point” and, if successfully addressed, achieving an immediate ‘product-market fit’ and winning the first industrial customer.

All participants of the Topic Track have – in addition to a four-month accommodation during the program provided by Techhouse – the chance to qualify for a direct investment of the “Innovation Excellence Partner” RLB Steiermark and to work directly with the bank. The topics here include “Service based technology applications” (e.g. AI, Blockchain), “Sustainability”, FinTech, “data driven business models” (data security or data empowerment) and HealthTech.

Techhouse, Johannes Müller
(c) Techhouse – Johannes Müller, Managing Director des Techhouse Accelerators.

In addition to the well-known cooperation partners (e.g. NextIncubator, Christof Indestries), this year’s PoC track includes Hutchinson Drei and Amiblu, an internationally active “hidden champion” with 200 million euros in sales, which is looking for smart solutions in the field of “pipes and water management”. Müller was also able to win a first international partner for the second batch, which can be registered for until the end of January.

(c) Amiblu Holding GmbH – Amiblu CEO Alexander Frech as partner for the Techhouse Accelerator.

“Amiblu has been setting the tone in the GRP pipe market for 60 years. It is therefore very natural for us to work with startups to generate ideas and combine our passion for water with the digital world,” explains CEO Alexander Frech.

Techhouse partner Nutrichem: Developer of smart drinking bottles for Parkinson’s patients

Nutrichem is a B. Braun subsidiary and would like to develop a smart drinking bottle for Parkinson’s patients as part of the partnership, for which a five-figure development budget is also available: “Our aspiration is to develop and produce innovative solutions in in-house production,” explains Managing Director Angelika Müller. By participating in the Accelerator as a cooperation partner in the PoC track, the company hopes to take a “think outside the box” approach to gain new perspectives from different industries with experts from different fields.

“Our goal ‘beyond the product’ is to make life as ‘convincing’ as possible for users or patients through services,” the entrepreneur continued. “By combining different fields of expertise, we see an opportunity here to design an eco-system, bundle synergies and thus offer a unified platform. Techhouse has different contact persons and disciplines and can thus also incorporate the most diverse influences into the idea of our smart drinking bottle. So far, we have approached the topic from a purely medical perspective. But compliance is essential for therapy.”

New coops – new fields

In general, the merging of startups with industry seems to create a level of its own that goes beyond the business basis that founders receive, if one compares Müller’s statement with that of the last batch. It was remarkable then when Kurt Herzog, “Head of Industry 4.0” of Techhouse partner Primetals Technologies Austria said that the “matchmaking” with the partner startup had not exactly corresponded to the company’s original plan, but through the cooperation they had discovered a field in the company to be optimized.

(c) private – Eddie Sommerville, Product and Innovation Manager (IoT) at Drei, focuses on dynamic exchanges with tech startups.

The Product & Innovation Manager for Digital Business Solutions at Drei, Eddie Sommerville, also expects a digital boost from this cooperation, albeit in a different track: “The Techhouse PoC Challenge gives us the opportunity to be part of a dynamic exchange with technology startups, where we can address new ideas and solutions together and also test them directly,” he says. “As we are currently rolling out the first Austria-wide LoRaWAN network (note: Long Range Wide Area Network), which we will complete by the end of 2022, it is particularly exciting for us to further strengthen our digitization portfolio in collaboration with existing and new partners.”

These two examples are just representative of the innovation opportunities that a startup-corporate collaboration can enable and created last time. Back then, there were 120 applicants from 14 countries who applied for the Accelerator.

Specifically, RedoxNRG from Estonia, a green tech startup that converts carbon dioxide into fuel, Synctactic.ai  from India, a “data science” platform that helps companies make sense of data, Asya  from Latvia, with its communication skills training, with real-time AI feedback, Mada Analytics from Israel (AI software to optimize financial returns on investments in renewable power plants) and Cortecs from Vienna, a data marketplace for alternative financial data to inform investment decisions, were selected as participants.

Google and EA at the next Techhouse run-through

For the next round of the Techhouse Accelerator – which will also feature speakers from Google and EA Sports – the topic of investment will once again play a major role.

Hannes Meixner, RLB Steiermark Head of Corporate explains: “In the course of the first Accelerator round, RLB offered the participating startups the prospect of an equity investment totaling 50,000 euros. All variants from an investment of the total amount in a single startup, to an equal distribution among all five startups were conceivable. Currently, we are in the process of processing three investment packages with a total amount significantly higher than the last time. And are looking forward to a long-term successful cooperation here.”

(c) RLB – Hannes Meixer RLB Steiermark-Head of Corporate announces three investment packages.

Registration for the Techhouse Accelerator is open as of today until Jan. 30, 2022. “Kick Off” of the program is in early March and starts remotely. In the further course of the program, the teams will then be invited to the Techhouse location at Unicorn in Graz.

Techhouse möchte nicht „noch so ein weiterer Accelerator“ sein, erklärt Managing Director Johannes Müller. Der nach Eigendefintion „Innovations-Beschleuniger für Startups und Industrie“ aus Graz richtet deshalb sein Angebot nach den „Needs“ von Gründern und Corporates aus und kann bereits mit Erfolgstories aufwarten. Eine davon ist Felloz von Raphael Marton, das durch die Teilnahme an ersten Batch zum „local superhero“ ernannt wurde und – nicht „nur“ – zu Kapital gelangt ist.

„Wir haben unseren Sitz nach Zagreb verlegt und unser Team um einen Full-Stack Entwickler vergrößert. Zwei Großkunden sind auch an Bord gekommen, ‚SOS-Kinderdorf Kroatien‘ und ‚Red Noses International‘“, erklärt der Gründer des Grazer Social Impact Startups.

Vom Gastbeitrag zu 50.000 Euro

Das Pre-Seed-Investment, das Felloz erhielt, lag in Höhe von 50.000 Euro und wurde vom VC „Fil Rouge Capital“ bereitgestellt. Marton dazu: „Im Rahmen des Techhouse Accelerators hat Julien Coustaury, der Gründer und Managing Partner von Fil Rouge Capital, einen Gastbeitrag gehalten und von seinem Early-Stage-Fund erzählt. Kurz danach haben wir uns auf der Website angemeldet und wurden aus hunderten Bewerber:innen nach Zagreb eingeladen. Am selben Tag nach dem Pitch hatten wir bereits die Zusage.“

Nun stehen für Felloz bereits die nächsten Schritte an. „Im Frühjahr launchen wir unsere Spenden-App mit unseren Kunden in Europa. Die Seed-Investment-Runde schließen wir kommenden März ab, um möglichst schnell in den amerikanischen Markt vorzudringen“, so Marton weiter. „Der Techhouse Accelorator hat uns maßgeblich dabei geholfen, ein internationales Netzwerk aufzubauen. Einerseits waren unglaubliche Gastvortragende dabei, wie Andy Baynes, der ehemalige ‚Head of Product Design‘ von Apple, die ihr Wissen mit voller Leidenschaft weitergaben. Andererseits war genau die richtige Infrastruktur gegeben, in der man innovative Ideen mit kreativen Köpfen besprechen konnte.“

Accelerator als Shortcut

Auch die tschechische „Conversational AI“-Plattform Amio war Teilnehmer des ersten Batch des Techhouse Accelerator und konnte vor kurzem eine Finanzierungsrunde in Höhe von 390.000 Euro abschließen. Gründer Matouš Kučera sah mit der Teilnahme einen „Shortcut“ für sein Startup: „Was für Amio definitiv hilfreich war, ist die Tatsache, dass wir mit der Raiffeisenbank verbunden wurden und mit Managern sprechen konnten, die für die Verbesserung der UX, des Supports und der gesamten ‚Customer Journey‘ zuständig sind“, sagt er. „Auch unsere zweimonatige Präsenz vor Ort – in Form eines Büros – bekamen wir von Techhouse. Das half uns beim Eintritt in den österreichischen Markt.“

Topic Track und PoC-Track

Zur Erklärung: Das Techhouse Programm teilt sich auf zwei Ebenen auf: Im Topic-Track haben fünf Early Stage-Startups die Chance Business-Modelle und Technologien zu entwickeln. Der PoC-Track hingegen wurde für Startups und junge Teams, die noch nicht gegründet haben, entworfen, um nah mit industriellen Kooperationspartnern an konkreten Problemfeldern und deren Lösungen zu arbeiten. Für Gründerteams liegt hier der Fokus darauf, den „pain-point“ des Kunden zu identifizieren und bei einer erfolgreichen Bearbeitung einen sofortigen ‚Product-Market-Fit‘ zu erreichen und den ersten Industrie-Kunden zu gewinnen.

Techhouse, Johannes Müller
(c) Techhouse – Johannes Müller, Managing Director des Techhouse Accelerators.

Neben den altbekannten Kooperationspartnern (bspw. NextIncubator, Christof Indestries) findet sich heuer neben Hutchinson Drei mit Amiblu auch ein international agierender „Hidden Champion“ mit 200 Millionen Euro Umsatz im PoC-Track wieder, der smarte Lösungen rund um die Themen „Rohre und Wasserwirtschaft“ sucht. Zudem konnte Müller auch einen ersten internationalen Partner für den zweiten Batch gewinnen, für den man sich noch bis Ende Jänner anmelden kann.

(c) Amiblu Holding GmbH – Amiblu CEO Alexander Frech als Partner für den Techhouse Accelerator.

„Amiblu gibt den Ton am GFK-Rohrmarkt an, und das seit 60 Jahren. Es ist für uns daher sehr naheliegend, mit Startups zusammenzuarbeiten und so Ideen zu generieren und die Passion fürs Thema Wasser mit der digitalen Welt zu verbinden“, erklärt CEO Alexander Frech.

Techhouse-Partner Nutrichem: Entwickler smarter Trinkflaschen für Parkinson Patienten

Nutrichem ist eine B. Braun Tochterfirma und möchte im Rahmen der Partnerschaft eine smarte Trinkflasche für Parkinson Patienten entwickeln, wofür auch ein fünfstelliges Entwicklungsbudget bereitsteht: „Unser Anspruch ist es in inhouse Produktion innovative Lösungen zu entwickeln und zu produzieren“, erklärt Managing Director Angelika Müller. Durch die Teilnahme am Accelerator als Kooperationspartner im PoC-Track verspricht sich das Unternehmen einen „think outside the box“-Ansatz, um neue Perspektiven aus verschiedenen Branchen mit Experten aus verschiedenen Bereichen zu erhalten.

„Unser Ziel ist es, ‚beyond the product‘ durch Services den Anwendern bzw. Patienten das Leben so ‚convinient‘ wie möglich zu gestalten“, so die Unternehmerin weiter. „Durch das Zusammenfassen von unterschiedlichen Kompetenzfeldern sehen wir hier die Chance ein Eco-System zu gestalten, Synergien zu bündeln und damit eine einheitliche Plattform zu bieten. Techhouse hat unterschiedliche Ansprechpartner und Disziplinen und kann damit auch unterschiedlichste Einflüsse in die Idee unserer smarten Trinkflasche einfließen lassen. Bisher sind wir aus rein medizinischer Sicht an das Thema rangegangen. Compliance ist aber essenziell für die Therapie.“

Neue Koops – neue Felder

Überhaupt scheint die Zusammenführung von Startups mit der Industrie eine eigene Ebene zu erschaffen, die über die betriebswirtschaftliche Basis, die Gründer erhalten, hinausgeht, vergleicht man Müllers Aussage mit jener vom letzten Batch. Bemerkenswert war damals, als Kurt Herzog, „Head of Industry 4.0“ des Techhouse-Partners Primetals Technologies Austria meinte, dass das „Matchmaking“ mit dem Partner-Startup nicht exakt dem Ursprungsplan der Firma entsprochen habe, sie aber durch die Kooperation ein zu optimierendes Feld in der Firma entdeckt hätten.

(c) privat – Eddie Sommerville, Product and Innovation Manager (IoT) bei Drei, setzt auf dynamischen Austausch mit Tech-Startups.

Auch „Product & Innovation Manager for Digital Business Solutions“ bei Drei, Eddie Sommerville verspricht sich, zwar im anderen Track, aber dennoch einen digitalen Boost von dieser Kooperation: „Die Techhouse PoC-Challenge gibt uns die Möglichkeit, Teil eines dynamischen Austausches mit Technologie-Startups zu sein, wo wir gemeinsam neue Ideen und Lösungen ansprechen und auch direkt testen können“, sagt er. „Da wir gerade das erste österreichweite LoRaWAN-Netz (Anm.: Long Range Wide Area Network) ausbauen, das wir Ende 2022 fertigstellen werden, ist es für uns besonders spannend, in Zusammenarbeit mit existierenden und neuen Partnern unser Digitalisierungs-Portfolio weiter zu stärken.“

Diese beiden Beispiele stehen nur stellvertretend für die Innovationsmöglichkeiten, die eine Startup-Corporate-Kooperation ermöglichen kann und letztes Mal entstanden ist. Damals waren es 120 Bewerber aus 14 Ländern, die sich für den Accelerator  beworben haben.

Konkret wurden RedoxNRG aus Estland, ein GreenTech-Startups, das Kohlendioxid in Kraftstoff umwandelt, Synctactic.ai aus Indien, eine „Data Science“-Plattform, die Unternehmen hilft, Daten zu sinnvoll zu erschließen, Asya aus Lettland, mit ihrem Kommunikationsfähigkeit-Training, mit AI-Feedback in Echtzeit, Mada Analytics aus Israel (AI-Software zur Optimierung finanzieller Erträge von Investitionen in erneuerbare Kraftwerke) und Cortecs aus Wien, ein Datenmarktplatz für alternative Finanzdaten als Grundlage für Investitionsentscheidungen, als Teilnehmer ausgewählt.

Google und EA beim nächsten Techhouse-Durchgang

Für den nächsten Durchgang des Techhouse Accelerators – bei dem auch Vortragende von Google oder EA Sports vor Ort sein werden – wird vor allem das Thema Investment erneut eine große Rolle spielen.

Hannes Meixner, RLB Steiermark-Head of Corporate erklärt: „Im Zuge des ersten Accelerator-Durchgangs hat die RLB den teilnehmenden Startups eine EK-Investition in Gesamthöhe von 50.000 Euro in Aussicht gestellt. Alle Varianten von einer Investition der Gesamtsumme in ein einzelnes Startup, bis hin zur gleichmäßigen Verteilung auf alle fünf Startups waren denkbar. Aktuell befinden wir uns in der Abwicklung von drei Investitionspaketen mit einer Gesamtsumme von deutlich über der letztmaligen Summe. Und freuen uns hier auf eine langfristige erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit.“

(c) RLB – Hannes Meixer RLB Steiermark-Head of Corporate vermeldet drei Investitionspakete.

Die Anmeldung für den Techhouse Accelerator ist seit heute bis zum 30.01. 2022 geöffnet. „Kick Off“ des Programms ist Anfang März und startet remote. Im weiteren Programmverlauf werden die Teams dann in den Techhouse-Standort im Unicorn nach Graz eingeladen.